---
title: "You need a more affordable data room? 5 SecureDocs alternatives in 2026"
lang: en
canonical_url: https://www.papermark.com/blog/securedocs-alternatives
last_updated: 2026-09-19
published: 2026-09-19
category: [datarooms]
author: "Marc Seitz"
summary: "Need a more affordable SecureDocs alternative in 2026? Cover Onit's 2021 acquisition, all pricing plans, and 5 options led by Papermark at €99/month."
---

# You need a more affordable data room? 5 SecureDocs alternatives in 2026

SecureDocs is a self-serve virtual data room for M&A, fundraising, and diligence, sold as a subscription from $450/month, with unlimited users, unlimited documents, a 14-day trial, and a three-month minimum on the short plan. It is not an independent VDR company. Onit acquired SecureDocs (deal closed 20 December 2021, announced 11 January 2022) and now hosts the product inside its contract-lifecycle portfolio at onit.com. This guide covers the company, the acquisition, every published pricing plan, and **5 more affordable SecureDocs alternatives**.

[Papermark](/data-room.md) is a secure, fully customizable, and developer-friendly data room for modern dealmakers, with [page-level analytics](/document-analytics.md), [dynamic watermarking](/dynamic-watermarking.md), unlimited data room visitors, a public [API, CLI, and MCP server](https://www.papermark.com/agents.md), [AI redaction](https://www.papermark.com/ai-redaction) on Data Rooms Premium and above, and a [Data Rooms plan](https://www.papermark.com/pricing.md?view=datarooms) from €99/month. It is the best overall and most affordable SecureDocs alternative on this list.

  SecureDocs is a subscription VDR from $450/month with no month-to-month option. [Papermark](/data-room.md) runs the same job (CIM, quality of earnings, contracts, HR files, several bidders) on a [€99/month Data Rooms plan](https://www.papermark.com/pricing.md?view=datarooms) with unlimited data room visitors and [page-by-page analytics](/document-analytics.md). That is the affordable exit if you still need a deal room and do not want to sit inside Onit's CLM suite.

![Papermark data room as the most affordable SecureDocs alternative](https://img.papermarkassets.com/upload/file_35DtVER7SdS1G6unRE8unv-papermark-data-room.png)

*A Papermark M&A data room with workstream folders and per-link permissions, from €99/month.*

The five alternatives at the end of this article, in price order after Papermark, are Onehub, FirmRoom, CapLinked, and Digify. Papermark is #1. The company, acquisition, and pricing sections come first because that is what most SecureDocs shoppers are actually trying to understand.

## What SecureDocs is, and how the company was built

SecureDocs is a document-centric virtual data room aimed at mid-market M&A, capital raising, divestitures, and bankruptcy processes. You get a folder tree, drag-and-drop upload, permission-based roles, [dynamic watermarking](/dynamic-watermarking.md), a customizable NDA, a [Q&A](https://www.papermark.com/data-room-questions-and-answers) thread, dashboards, and an exportable audit trail. Onit still markets a 10-minute self-serve setup with no sales call. Hosting is AWS in the United States, Ireland, and Germany. Encryption is AES-256 at rest and TLS 1.2 in transit. The company cites a SOC 2 Type 2 audit, multi-factor authentication, a 99.9% uptime claim, and no back-end staff access to customer rooms.

The company started in 2012 in Goleta, California, in the Santa Barbara area. Co-founder Will Reynolds had worked in sales at Citrix Online and AppFolio. He led the spin-out of the data-room product from AppFolio; LinkedIn and contemporary profiles date that spin-out around 2014, with SecureDocs, Inc. as the vehicle. Albert Oaten is the other named co-founder. The first product was the SecureDocs virtual data room: a permissioned repository for deal files, built to compete with per-page enterprise VDRs on simplicity and a published subscription.

SecureDocs did not stay a single-SKU VDR shop. In March 2015 it launched **ContractWorks**, a lighter contract-lifecycle product for mid-size legal teams that did not want an enterprise CLM implementation. Later it added **ReadySign**, an electronic-signature tool. By the time Onit bought the company, the pitch was a three-product stack: virtual deal rooms, contract management, and e-sign. Onit's 2022 release said SecureDocs and ContractWorks had helped customers manage more than 13 million contracts and documents across 96 countries. G2 lists SecureDocs at 4.8/5 from 38+ reviews. Capterra is 4.9/5 from 161+ reviews in Papermark's fundraising roundups. Reviewers cite setup speed and support. They also cite a thinner analytics and branding layer than modern VDRs.

That history matters for a buyer in 2026. You are not evaluating a standalone Santa Barbara VDR startup. You are evaluating one SKU inside a PE-backed legal-ops platform whose original reason for buying SecureDocs was ContractWorks, not the deal room. The VDR still exists. The parent, the website, and the roadmap sit in Onit's CLM column. The feature walkthrough is in our [SecureDocs VDR overview](/blog/securedocs-vdr.md). The rate card is in [SecureDocs pricing](/blog/securedocs-pricing.md). The commercial page is [/alternatives/securedocs](https://www.papermark.com/alternatives/securedocs).

## Onit acquired SecureDocs in 2021

Teams searching "SecureDocs acquisition" are not imagining a rumour. **Onit, Inc. acquired SecureDocs, Inc.** The customer FAQ from ContractWorks dated the close to **20 December 2021**. Onit announced the deal on **11 January 2022**. Financial terms were not disclosed. Law.com and LawSites described it as Onit's largest purchase in a then-recent streak. Products were to remain standalone. Will Reynolds stayed on as general manager of SecureDocs.

Onit is an enterprise legal-management and contract-lifecycle vendor, founded by Eric M. Elfman, with operations associated with Houston and Atlanta. K1 Investment Management's $200 million investment in January 2019 funded a roll-up. SimpleLegal (spend and matter management) closed in May 2019. By early 2022 Onit had also bought Bodhala (legal spend analytics), BusyLamp (European legal spend and matter management), AXDRAFT (document automation), and McCarthyFinch (legal AI, later Onit's AI centre). SecureDocs was the fifth add-on in about 15 months when the release went out, and the first that brought a virtual data room and native e-sign into the portfolio.

Onit's stated reason was not "we needed a better VDR." It was CLM coverage. Onit already sold an enterprise contract-lifecycle suite to Fortune 500 legal departments. ContractWorks gave it a quickly deployed contract-management SKU for new and growing legal ops teams. The VDR and ReadySign came along as adjacent SecureDocs products. Mark Weidick, then GM of SimpleLegal, framed the combination as SimpleLegal plus SecureDocs for companies "starting or establishing modernized legal operations." Elfman compared the pattern to Onit's earlier ELM expansion: one product for the top of the market, another for everyone else.

What changed for VDR customers is visible on the public site. The product home is now **onit.com/products/clm/securedocs/**, under Contract Lifecycle Management, with the line "Welcome to the new home of SecureDocs" and "backed by the full strength of Onit's product portfolio." Help, login, and support still exist, but the brand sits in a legal-software catalogue next to CLM, matter management, and spend tools. That is the same pattern as Datasite owning Firmex or DealRoom owning FirmRoom: the VDR is still sold, and it is no longer the company's whole business.

Independence is therefore a real shortlist filter. If you wanted a vendor whose only job is the data room, SecureDocs is now an Onit SKU. Papermark, CapLinked, and Digify on this list are not Onit products. Onehub was acquired by SRS Acquiom in January 2021. FirmRoom remains DealRoom-owned. Papermark is the independent, more affordable option if leaving a parent-company VDR is part of why you are shopping.

## Why teams look for a SecureDocs alternative

The acquisition is one reason. Price, billing rigidity, and the feature gap are the others.

**Price versus an affordable data room.** SecureDocs is quoted here from **$450/month**. That is a subscription, not a per-page invoice, and it is still several times the [Papermark Data Rooms plan](https://www.papermark.com/pricing.md?view=datarooms) at €99/month. Onit markets the VDR as budget-friendly against Datasite and Intralinks. Against modern published rooms it is the mid-hundreds plan, not the affordable one.

**No month-to-month.** The short plan is a three-month commitment. The long plan is twelve months, billed annually. A six-week confirmatory diligence still pays a quarter. A deal that slips from month two into month five does not get a monthly off-switch. Papermark's Data Rooms trial is seven days with no credit card, and the paid plan is a published monthly number with an annual rate of €99.

**The room is a CLM sibling.** After 2021 the buyer is a legal-ops platform. Roadmap, packaging, and the public URL follow ContractWorks and Onit CLM more than a VDR-only competitor set. Teams that only needed a deal room, not e-sign seats or a contract repository, are paying for a product that lives in a different catalogue.

**Analytics stay at document and user level.** SecureDocs dashboards filter activity by user, role, group, uploads, downloads, and document views. That is enough to see who entered the room. It is not [page-by-page analytics](/document-analytics.md): which page, how long, whether the link was forwarded. Sell-side teams that run live processes on bidder intent feel that gap first.

**Branding, developers, and hosting.** Custom domains and full white-label are limited versus Papermark's [custom branding](https://www.papermark.com/data-room-custom-branding). There is no public [API, CLI, and MCP](https://www.papermark.com/agents.md) story of the kind deal teams use to stand rooms up from a repo. There is no self-hosting path. [AI redaction](https://www.papermark.com/ai-redaction) is not the SecureDocs pitch. SAML 2.0 / SSO is called out on the longer Onit plan, which is another reason the cheap-looking annual headline is not the whole product.

**Unlimited users is not the same as unlimited rooms.** SecureDocs includes unlimited users (internal and external reviewers) in the subscription. That is not unlimited data rooms, and it is not a reason to skip Papermark's unlimited data room visitors on every plan. If you run two mandates, ask Onit how volume packages are quoted before you assume the $450/month SKU covers both.

G2's 4.8/5 from a few dozen reviews and Capterra's 4.9/5 from 161+ are consistent with "easy to stand up." They are not a reason to ignore the parent company, the three-month floor, or a €99 alternative that includes page-level heatmaps.

## SecureDocs pricing: every published plan

Onit still publishes three SecureDocs commercial pages: a **3-month plan billed quarterly**, a **12-month plan billed annually**, and **volume packages** billed annually on a quote. There is no month-to-month SKU. There is a 14-day trial. We quote SecureDocs as a subscription **from $450/month**, the higher monthly rate, rather than the cheaper annual-billed headline. It is a subscription with a minimum term, not a per-page invoice.

| Plan | What we quote | Billing | Best for |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| 3-month plan | $450/month ($1,350 / quarter) | Quarterly, 3-month minimum | Short M&A, divestiture, bankruptcy window |
| 12-month plan | $450/month ($5,400 / year) | Annual commitment | Fundraising, standing corporate repository, deals expected to run 6+ months |
| Volume packages | Custom quote | Annual, sales-led | Several live rooms at once |

**3-month plan.** This is the deal-window SKU. Onit's product page positions it for divestments, M&A, and bankruptcy. You pay a quarter up front. A process that dies in week five still costs the quarter. A process that runs 14 weeks needs a second quarter or a jump to the annual plan. At $450/month, 90 days is $1,350 before you add anything Onit puts in a volume conversation.

**12-month plan.** This is the repository SKU. Onit positions it for long projects and for teams that want a room sitting ready. The annual invoice at the rate we quote is **$5,400**. Onit also uses this tier to attach SAML 2.0 / SSO, which means the "cheaper annual" headline on the marketing page is not the same product as the quarterly room if SSO is a requirement. Papermark includes a 7-day trial and a published [€99/month Data Rooms](https://www.papermark.com/pricing.md?view=datarooms) number without a twelve-month lock to get basic SSO-class packaging on a different ladder.

**Volume packages.** If you are running multiple deals, Onit tells you to contact sales. That is the plan that most resembles the old enterprise VDR motion SecureDocs was founded to avoid. Get the number of rooms, the term, and whether SSO is included in writing. Do not assume unlimited users on the $450 SKU means unlimited rooms.

**What every plan includes (Onit's published set).** Unlimited users, unlimited documents, 24/7 support, dashboards, permission-based roles, audit log, search, Q&A, watermarking, customizable NDAs, encryption, MFA, AWS hosting with a US or EU region choice. e-signature licences are bundled on Onit's current feature list. The 14-day trial is full-featured in the company's own FAQ style copy.

**What the price does not include.** Month-to-month cancellation. A self-serve public rate card for volume. Page-level heatmaps. A public developer platform. Self-hosting. Full white-label custom domains of the Papermark kind. [AI redaction](https://www.papermark.com/ai-redaction). And, on the short plan, the SSO attachment Onit advertises with the long plan.

**How this compares with an affordable alternative.** Three months on SecureDocs at $450 is $1,350. Three months on Papermark's annually billed Data Rooms plan is €297. Twelve months is $5,400 versus €1,188. The gap is the reason this article exists. Detail and older screenshots live in [SecureDocs pricing](/blog/securedocs-pricing.md).

![SecureDocs pricing plans](https://img.papermarkassets.com/upload/file_UkbS12GBQ2bviRbmACz8yx-Screenshot-2025-10-25-at-11.49.03.png)

*SecureDocs subscription plans: quarterly, annual, and volume. Quote the monthly (higher) rate from $450/month.*

### Worked example: a 16-week $28M sell-side

Northline Harbor is a hypothetical 40-person packaging software business in Bristol, selling for $28M. Counsel wants the CIM, a quality of earnings pack, customer contracts, and HR files in a permissioned room for two strategic bidders and one PE shop. The process is scoped at 16 weeks.

SecureDocs's 3-month plan covers 12 weeks at $1,350. The extra four weeks force a second quarter ($2,700 total) or an annual commitment ($5,400) if the board wants the room left up for earn-out files. Unlimited users is fine. Two live rooms is not: if Harbor's advisor opens a second mandate in week six, volume pricing is a sales call.

On Papermark's [Data Rooms plan](https://www.papermark.com/pricing.md?view=datarooms) the same 16 weeks is a slice of the €99/month annual rate, with unlimited data rooms, unlimited storage, unlimited data room visitors, [NDA gating](/one-click-nda.md), [dynamic watermarking](/dynamic-watermarking.md), and [page-by-page analytics](/document-analytics.md) on which bidder lingered in the contracts folder. That is the affordable path when the job is still a data room and not Onit CLM.

## 5 SecureDocs alternatives (Papermark first)

These five are the affordable and near-affordable published rooms teams actually put next to SecureDocs. Papermark is best overall. The other four sit in the same mid-hundreds band, or below it, without a Datasite-style page invoice.

1. **[Papermark](/data-room.md)** - from [€99/month](https://www.papermark.com/pricing.md?view=datarooms), 7-day trial. Most affordable: unlimited rooms, unlimited storage, unlimited data room visitors, [page-by-page analytics](/document-analytics.md), [API/CLI/MCP](https://www.papermark.com/agents.md), [AI redaction](https://www.papermark.com/ai-redaction) on Premium+.
2. **Onehub** - Data Room Edition $375/month ($300/month billed annually). Budget room, 5 users included. SRS Acquiom-owned since January 2021.
3. **FirmRoom** - from $395/month (2 GB), one room per plan. DealRoom-owned after the 2018 spin-out.
4. **CapLinked** - from $399/month on the Team plan. Published VDR, OCR search, no per-viewer charge.
5. **Digify** - from $480/month on the Team plan. File-level DRM and device fingerprinting, 10 rooms on Team.

| # | Provider | Starting price | Independent of Onit? | Best case |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| 1 | Papermark | From €99/month | ✔️ | Best overall, most affordable M&A or fundraising room |
| 2 | Onehub | $375/month | ✔️ (SRS Acquiom-owned) | Small diligence, budget published price |
| 3 | FirmRoom | From $395/month | ✔️ (DealRoom-owned) | Single-room mid-market VDR, storage tiers |
| 4 | CapLinked | From $399/month | ✔️ | Smaller diligence, OCR search |
| 5 | Digify | From $480/month | ✔️ | Many small rooms with file-level DRM |

## 1. Papermark - most affordable SecureDocs alternative

Website: [papermark.com](https://www.papermark.com/index.md)

**Pricing:** From [€99/month](https://www.papermark.com/pricing.md?view=datarooms) on the Data Rooms plan, 7-day free trial. Free plan available for document sharing.

[Papermark](/data-room.md) is a secure, fully customizable, and developer-friendly data room built for modern dealmakers, with [page-by-page analytics](/document-analytics.md), [dynamic watermarking](/dynamic-watermarking.md), unlimited data room visitors, and transparent pricing from €99/month. Against SecureDocs it removes the three-month floor, the $450/month subscription, and the Onit parent. Open-source and [self-hosting](https://github.com/mfts/papermark) are available if you need data sovereignty a CLM vendor does not offer.

### Core benefit: page-by-page analytics

SecureDocs shows who opened a file. Papermark shows which page they spent time on, how long they lingered, and whether the link was forwarded. On a sell-side that is a live read on intent.

![Papermark page-by-page document analytics](https://img.papermarkassets.com/upload/file_7u55u1oLqErWJhWGRkFFVF-document-analytics-Papermark.png)

*Page-level analytics are included rather than an enterprise reporting add-on.*

### Data room security and certifications

Papermark covers the controls M&A counterparties ask about: [dynamic watermarking](/dynamic-watermarking.md) that stamps each viewer's email, IP, and timestamp, view-only mode with [screenshot protection](/screenshot-protection.md), [one-click NDA](/one-click-nda.md) gating, and [granular file- and folder-level permissions](https://www.papermark.com/granular-permissions). Encryption is AES-256 at rest and TLS in transit. EU hosting in Frankfurt is available. It is ISO 27001 certified and SOC 2 Type II audited (SOC 2 from Data Rooms Plus and above), plus GDPR, HIPAA, and CCPA aligned. Details are on the [security page](https://www.papermark.com/security.md).

![Papermark dynamic watermarking](https://assets.papermark.io/upload/file_V36N5Bqq11P7iBd77YTokM-dynamic-watermark-cover-papermark-.png)

### Customization and branding

Run every room on your own [custom domain](https://www.papermark.com/data-room-custom-branding) with your logo and Papermark branding removed. Custom domains are included from the €99/month Data Rooms plan.

![Papermark custom branding and white-label domain](https://assets.papermark.io/upload/file_Jv9ZNrfQjceEsopGrFUDDu-papermark-branding.png)

### Papermark pricing

The [Data Rooms plan](https://www.papermark.com/pricing.md?view=datarooms) is **€99/month** billed annually (€149 month-to-month) with a 7-day free trial and includes **3 team members**, unlimited data room visitors, unlimited data rooms, unlimited documents, unlimited storage, a custom domain, [dynamic watermarking](/dynamic-watermarking.md), [NDA agreements](/one-click-nda.md), and [granular file-level permissions](https://www.papermark.com/granular-permissions). Extra team members are €33/month.

**Data Rooms Plus at €249/month** adds 5 team members, the [Q&A module](https://www.papermark.com/data-room-questions-and-answers), the visitor audit log, automatic file indexing, and SOC 2 Type II. **Data Rooms Premium at €549/month** covers 10 team members plus [AI redaction](https://www.papermark.com/ai-redaction), full API access, SSO, and whitelabeling. **Data Rooms Unlimited at €999/month** removes per-seat charges and adds self-hosted deployment.

A public [API, CLI, and MCP server](https://www.papermark.com/agents.md) can create rooms and read analytics programmatically.

### Ratings and limitations

Papermark rates 4.9/5 across 171 reviews on G2, Product Hunt, and community feedback, verified in 2026, and is used by 70,000+ companies. The honest limitation against a nine-figure, bank-specified process is brand: some bulge-bracket buy sides still expect Intralinks or Datasite. [AI redaction](https://www.papermark.com/ai-redaction) is Premium and Unlimited only. Team seats on the €99 plan are three, not SecureDocs's unlimited paid-admin model; unlimited data room visitors are included on every plan.

_No credit card required._

## 2. Onehub - budget published room

Website: [onehub.com](https://www.onehub.com)

**Pricing:** Data Room Edition $375/month ($300/month billed annually), 5 users included, $25 per extra user. 14-day trial.

Onehub is a cloud storage product with a dedicated Data Room Edition: watermarking, NDAs, stealth mode, automatic indexing, white-label branding. G2 sits around 4.2/5 from 45 reviews. The published price undercuts SecureDocs's $450/month subscription.

**Limitations:** SRS Acquiom acquired Onehub in January 2021, so this is another parent-company VDR. Five paid users on the Data Room Edition versus SecureDocs unlimited users. Page-level analytics are limited. See [Onehub alternatives](/blog/onehub-alternatives.md).

## 3. FirmRoom - DealRoom's document VDR

Website: [firmroom.com](https://firmroom.com)

**Pricing:** $395/month (2 GB), $695/month (5 GB), $995/month (10 GB), one room per plan, $150/GB overage, 14-day trial.

FirmRoom is a self-serve VDR spun out of DealRoom in 2018 and still owned by DealRoom Inc. The 2 GB tier undercuts SecureDocs on the monthly headline if the set stays small. Unlimited users, watermarking, NDA, permissions.

**Limitations:** one room, a GB meter, same parent as DealRoom. Not an Onit product, not an independent VDR either. See [FirmRoom alternatives](/blog/best-firmroom-alternatives.md).

## 4. CapLinked - published diligence VDR

Website: [caplinked.com](https://www.caplinked.com)

**Pricing:** From $399/month on the Team plan.

![CapLinked interface](https://img.papermarkassets.com/upload/file_UipTboevfvEi1NKnz4m1Us-Caplinked.png)

CapLinked is a published-price VDR with OCR search and no per-viewer charge for external reviewers. It sits $51/month below the SecureDocs rate we quote, with a similar "subscription instead of per-page" pitch.

**Limitations:** G2 sits around 3.9/5 in recent VDR roundups. Custom branding and page-level analytics are limited versus Papermark. Independent of Onit.

## 5. Digify - file-level rights management

Website: [digify.com](https://digify.com)

**Pricing:** From $480/month on the Team plan (3 users, 10 data rooms, 500 GB).

![Digify data room](https://img.papermarkassets.com/upload/file_Y4hZA7aMbgDr2mgQVAuUBw-Digify.png)

Digify is a secure document-sharing and data room tool with watermarking, device fingerprinting, and file-level rights. Team includes 10 rooms, which is the opposite of a single-subscription-one-deal habit. The $480/month Team plan is in SecureDocs's band, not below it.

**Limitations:** three paid users on Team. Page-by-page analytics and white-label data rooms are not the core pitch. See the [Digify overview](/blog/what-is-digify-overview-features.md).

## Feature comparison: SecureDocs alternatives

| Feature | Papermark | SecureDocs | Onehub | FirmRoom | CapLinked | Digify |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Starting price (quoted) | €99/month | $450/month | $375/month | $395/month | $399/month | $480/month |
| Month-to-month option | ✔️ | ❌ | Limited | ✔️ | Limited | Limited |
| Unlimited data rooms | ✔️ | Volume quote | Limited | ❌ (one/plan) | Limited | 10 on Team |
| Unlimited data room visitors | ✔️ | ✔️ (users) | 5 paid seats | ✔️ (users) | ✔️ | Per plan |
| Page-by-page analytics | ✔️ | Document-level | Limited | Document-level | Limited | Limited |
| Q&A module | From Plus | ✔️ | Limited | ✔️ | Limited | ❌ |
| Independent VDR company | ✔️ | ❌ (Onit 2021) | ❌ (SRS 2021) | ❌ (DealRoom) | ✔️ | ✔️ |
| Self-hosted / open-source | ✔️ | ❌ | ❌ | ❌ | ❌ | ❌ |
| API / MCP | ✔️ | Limited | Limited | Limited | Limited | Limited |

## Data room for M&A as a SecureDocs alternative

A data room for M&A is the permissioned workspace that holds the CIM, quality of earnings, customer contracts, and HR files while several bidders review them at once. Leaving SecureDocs does not mean buying Onit CLM or ContractWorks unless you actually need a contract repository.

[Papermark](/data-room.md) is a secure, fully customizable, and developer-friendly data room for modern dealmakers. Set [one-click NDA](/one-click-nda.md) gating, stamp pages with [dynamic watermarking](/dynamic-watermarking.md), split first-round and confirmatory bidders with [granular permissions](https://www.papermark.com/granular-permissions), and watch [page-by-page analytics](/document-analytics.md). Unlimited data room visitors are included on every plan. [AI redaction](https://www.papermark.com/ai-redaction) is on Data Rooms Premium (€549/month billed annually) and Unlimited.

![Papermark M&A data room](https://assets.papermark.io/upload/file_37AFqgeT96hqFRabqkKLuy-papermark-ma-data-room.png)

*Workstream folders and per-link permissions on a Papermark M&A data room.*

The [Data Rooms plan](https://www.papermark.com/pricing.md?view=datarooms) is **€99/month** billed annually (€149 month-to-month), with a 7-day free trial, 3 team members, unlimited data rooms, unlimited documents, unlimited storage, a custom domain, dynamic watermarking, NDA agreements, and granular file-level permissions.

## Conclusion

If you need a SecureDocs alternative, decide whether you still want a document data room and whether Onit ownership is a problem.

Papermark is the best overall and most affordable pick: published [€99/month](https://www.papermark.com/pricing.md?view=datarooms), unlimited rooms and storage, [page-by-page analytics](/document-analytics.md), and no Onit parent. Onehub, FirmRoom, and CapLinked undercut or match the $450/month SecureDocs subscription with their own parent-company or feature caveats. Digify sits in the same band for DRM-heavy sends.

Onit closed the SecureDocs purchase in December 2021 and announced it in January 2022. The VDR is still sold. It is no longer the whole company. For the rate card, see [SecureDocs pricing](/blog/securedocs-pricing.md). For the product tour, see the [SecureDocs VDR overview](/blog/securedocs-vdr.md).

## FAQ

### What is the most affordable SecureDocs alternative?

Papermark is the most affordable SecureDocs alternative on this list: a Data Rooms plan from €99/month billed annually, 7-day trial, unlimited data rooms, unlimited storage, and unlimited data room visitors. SecureDocs is quoted from $450/month with a three-month minimum on the short plan. Onehub's Data Room Edition at $375/month is the next published price below SecureDocs.

### Did Onit acquire SecureDocs?

Yes. Onit, Inc. acquired SecureDocs, Inc. The customer FAQ dated the close to 20 December 2021. Onit announced the acquisition on 11 January 2022. Terms were not disclosed. Will Reynolds stayed as general manager. The VDR, ContractWorks, and ReadySign were to remain standalone products inside Onit's portfolio.

### Why did Onit buy SecureDocs?

Onit's stated reason was contract lifecycle management, not a VDR roll-up. ContractWorks gave Onit a quickly deployed CLM SKU for growing legal ops teams, next to Onit's enterprise CLM. The virtual data room and ReadySign e-sign came with the company. SecureDocs was Onit's fifth add-on in about 15 months after SimpleLegal, Bodhala, BusyLamp, AXDRAFT, and McCarthyFinch.

### How much does SecureDocs cost in 2026?

Quote SecureDocs as a subscription from $450/month. The 3-month plan is $1,350 per quarter. The 12-month plan is $5,400 per year at that rate. Volume packages are custom and billed annually. There is a 14-day trial and no month-to-month SKU. Papermark's Data Rooms plan is €99/month billed annually.

### Does SecureDocs offer monthly billing?

No month-to-month plan. The shortest published commitment is three months billed quarterly. The long plan is twelve months billed annually. Papermark offers a 7-day Data Rooms trial and a published €99/month annual rate without a three-month floor.

### Is SecureDocs still independent after the acquisition?

No. The product is sold as SecureDocs, an Onit product, on onit.com under Contract Lifecycle Management. Help and login still exist. The parent is Onit, a PE-backed legal-ops platform. Papermark, CapLinked, and Digify on this list are not Onit products.

### Does SecureDocs include unlimited users and storage?

Onit includes unlimited users and unlimited documents in the published subscription. That is reviewers, not unlimited data rooms. Volume packages are a sales quote if you run several deals. Papermark includes unlimited data room visitors and unlimited data rooms from €99/month.

### Does Papermark work as a SecureDocs alternative for due diligence?

Yes. Papermark covers NDA gating, dynamic watermarking, granular permissions, Q&A from Data Rooms Plus, unlimited data room visitors, and page-by-page analytics. AI redaction is on Data Rooms Premium (€549/month) and Unlimited. Setup is self-serve in minutes.

### What is the difference between SecureDocs and ContractWorks?

SecureDocs is the virtual data room. ContractWorks is the contract-lifecycle product SecureDocs launched in 2015 for mid-size legal teams. ReadySign is the e-sign SKU. Onit bought the company primarily to add ContractWorks-class CLM next to its enterprise CLM. If you only need a deal room, you do not need the rest of that stack.

### Does SecureDocs have page-by-page analytics?

SecureDocs reports user, role, group, upload, download, and document-view activity on dashboards and audit logs. It does not match Papermark's page-level heatmaps (which page, how long, forwarded or not). That grain is a common reason sell-side teams switch.

### Is Onehub cheaper than SecureDocs?

The Data Room Edition is quoted at $375/month ($300/month billed annually), which is below the $450/month SecureDocs subscription we quote. It includes 5 paid users, not unlimited users. SRS Acquiom acquired Onehub in January 2021. Papermark at €99/month remains the lowest published Data Rooms price on this list.

### Where did the SecureDocs website go?

Onit moved the public product home to onit.com/products/clm/securedocs/ with the line Welcome to the new home of SecureDocs. Login and support contacts still appear there. The URL change is the practical face of the 2021 acquisition for anyone still searching securedocs.com.

## Related resources

- [SecureDocs VDR overview](/blog/securedocs-vdr.md)
- [SecureDocs pricing](/blog/securedocs-pricing.md)
- [Papermark vs SecureDocs](https://www.papermark.com/alternatives/securedocs)
- [FirmRoom alternatives](/blog/best-firmroom-alternatives.md)
- [Datasite alternatives](/blog/datasite-alternatives.md)
- [Onehub alternatives](/blog/onehub-alternatives.md)
- [Best virtual data rooms in 2026](/blog/best-virtual-data-rooms.md)
- [Virtual data room cost](/blog/virtual-data-room-cost.md)

---

_Markdown version of [this article](https://www.papermark.com/blog/securedocs-alternatives) for AI agents and LLMs._
_More Papermark content: [llms.txt](https://www.papermark.com/llms.txt) · [full index](https://www.papermark.com/llms-full.txt)._
